Data
WARN notices by state and year
Last updated October 19, 2026
Next update November 2026
When a company closes a plant or lays off a large part of a site, federal law asks it to say so first, in writing. Those notices are public. States post them, and an open archive gathers them into one file. This table counts the companies in our database that carry at least one of those notices since January 2020: 11,238 companies across 46 states and the District of Columbia. It shows them by state, by year of notice, by the number of workers the notice names, and by whether the notice called itself a closure or a layoff.
The Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act, WARN for short, applies to employers “with 100 or more employees,” in the Department of Labor’s words. It requires them “to provide at least 60 calendar days advance written notice of a plant closing and mass layoff” when the event affects “50 or more employees at a single site of employment.” The archive records the employer, the place, the date and the workers affected. It is the plainest public record there is that a company of real size is winding something down.
Companies with a WARN notice, by state and year of notice
| State | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 to 14 Oct | 2020 to 2026 | No date | All |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| California | 231 | 215 | 202 | 1,624 | 0 | 1,624 |
| New York | 79 | 85 | 45 | 1,172 | 0 | 1,172 |
| Texas | 97 | 124 | 80 | 1,074 | 0 | 1,074 |
| Florida | 70 | 97 | 59 | 794 | 0 | 794 |
| Illinois | 83 | 81 | 59 | 699 | 0 | 699 |
| Ohio | 70 | 51 | 46 | 507 | 0 | 507 |
| Pennsylvania | 0 | 1 | 0 | 229 | 184 | 413 |
| New Jersey | 55 | 68 | 77 | 393 | 0 | 393 |
| Tennessee | 0 | 42 | 43 | 318 | 0 | 318 |
| Washington | 32 | 51 | 62 | 313 | 0 | 313 |
| Michigan | 43 | 12 | 0 | 239 | 59 | 298 |
| North Carolina | 44 | 43 | 31 | 273 | 0 | 273 |
| Maryland | 27 | 36 | 28 | 250 | 0 | 250 |
| Nevada | 20 | 15 | 5 | 246 | 0 | 246 |
| Wisconsin | 35 | 25 | 21 | 236 | 0 | 236 |
| South Carolina | 1 | 19 | 17 | 37 | 185 | 222 |
| Indiana | 25 | 29 | 19 | 221 | 0 | 221 |
| Virginia | 20 | 31 | 36 | 208 | 0 | 208 |
| Arizona | 15 | 36 | 31 | 183 | 0 | 183 |
| Colorado | 29 | 23 | 22 | 179 | 1 | 180 |
| Massachusetts | 40 | 52 | 38 | 169 | 0 | 169 |
| Georgia | 31 | 53 | 44 | 159 | 0 | 159 |
| Missouri | 18 | 2 | 1 | 130 | 0 | 130 |
| Oregon | 21 | 26 | 11 | 129 | 0 | 129 |
| Connecticut | 11 | 13 | 9 | 123 | 0 | 123 |
| Minnesota | 8 | 9 | 2 | 45 | 58 | 103 |
| Utah | 11 | 16 | 8 | 96 | 0 | 96 |
| Alabama | 11 | 18 | 11 | 94 | 0 | 94 |
| District of Columbia | 5 | 20 | 11 | 90 | 1 | 91 |
| Kansas | 7 | 13 | 4 | 73 | 0 | 73 |
| Mississippi | 4 | 7 | 9 | 59 | 6 | 65 |
| New Mexico | 6 | 4 | 1 | 51 | 0 | 51 |
| Idaho | 8 | 8 | 5 | 44 | 0 | 44 |
| Rhode Island | 8 | 2 | 3 | 37 | 0 | 37 |
| Maine | 2 | 5 | 4 | 32 | 0 | 32 |
| Louisiana | 0 | 20 | 9 | 29 | 1 | 30 |
| Nebraska | 6 | 10 | 5 | 28 | 0 | 28 |
| Montana | 4 | 4 | 1 | 23 | 1 | 24 |
| Vermont | 2 | 6 | 6 | 22 | 0 | 22 |
| South Dakota | 5 | 4 | 1 | 22 | 0 | 22 |
| Delaware | 0 | 1 | 2 | 21 | 0 | 21 |
| North Dakota | 1 | 3 | 0 | 16 | 0 | 16 |
| Kentucky | 0 | 2 | 13 | 15 | 0 | 15 |
| Alaska | 0 | 2 | 1 | 14 | 0 | 14 |
| West Virginia | 4 | 0 | 0 | 11 | 0 | 11 |
| Iowa | 0 | 0 | 10 | 10 | 0 | 10 |
| Hawaii | 0 | 0 | 5 | 5 | 0 | 5 |
| All | 1,189 | 1,384 | 1,097 | 10,742 | 496 | 11,238 |
“2020 to 2026” counts every company whose notice is dated from 1 January 2020 to 14 October 2026, the last notice date in the table. “No date” counts companies whose notice carries no date. The two add up to “All”. A zero means none in our database for that state and year, not none filed.
Companies by year of notice and type
| Year of notice | Closure | Layoff | Type not stated | All |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 1,181 | 1,179 | 2,123 | 4,483 |
| 2021 | 255 | 96 | 338 | 689 |
| 2022 | 347 | 119 | 248 | 714 |
| 2023 | 498 | 202 | 486 | 1,186 |
| 2024 | 546 | 198 | 445 | 1,189 |
| 2025 | 616 | 200 | 568 | 1,384 |
| 2026 to 14 Oct | 490 | 186 | 421 | 1,097 |
| No date | 214 | 85 | 197 | 496 |
| All | 4,147 | 2,265 | 4,826 | 11,238 |
Companies by workers named in the notice
| Workers named | Closure | Layoff | Type not stated | All |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Under 25 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 25 to 49 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 50 to 99 | 2,013 | 15 | 2,296 | 4,324 |
| 100 to 249 | 1,615 | 1,550 | 1,828 | 4,993 |
| 250 to 499 | 353 | 431 | 462 | 1,246 |
| 500 or more | 166 | 269 | 240 | 675 |
| Not stated | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| All | 4,147 | 2,265 | 4,826 | 11,238 |
Every company here has a notice naming 50 workers or more; 6,914 of them name 100 or more. The empty bands are not a finding about WARN. They come from our own collection rule, set out in the methodology.
How to read it
Read each row as “companies in our database”, not “WARN notices filed in the state”. The archive we collect from is built from what each state publishes, and states publish unevenly. Some post every notice with a date. Some post no date at all. A few post nothing. So the table is a picture of our coverage, not a national count, and no column should be read as a trend for the country.
The unevenness is easy to spot once you know where to look. Pennsylvania has 413 companies, but only one with a notice dated after 2023; 184 of its companies have no notice date. The archive’s own notes say South Carolina’s, Michigan’s and Pennsylvania’s current listings “publish no notice date at all”, and that Minnesota and Indiana publish one “for only some rows”. That is why South Carolina has 185 undated companies, Michigan 59 and Minnesota 58. Tennessee has none dated 2024 and 42 dated 2025, which reads as a gap in collection, not a quiet year. Iowa and Hawaii appear only in 2026.
Four states are missing altogether. The archive says Arkansas “does not publish company-level WARN notices at all”, that New Hampshire’s server refuses its requests, and that Wyoming’s filings are “non-public by state statute”. The archive does list Oklahoma, but no Oklahoma company reaches this table; we have not yet traced why.
2020 is the largest year, with 4,483 companies. The years since run from 689 in 2021 to 1,384 in 2025. The number of states with at least one dated notice moves too: 39 in 2024, 44 in 2025 and 43 so far in 2026.
For most companies, the type column is the state’s own word, as far as the archive carries it; the methodology sets out the exceptions. A notice called a closure, a shutdown or a potential closure counts as a closure. A notice called a layoff, a reduction or a downsizing counts as a layoff. Many states don’t say, and 4,826 companies sit under “type not stated”. A closure here usually means a site, not always the whole company. A large employer can close one plant and keep running everywhere else.
The workers column is the count on the notice, for that site. It is not the company’s headcount. A company that names 80 workers on a notice employed at least 80 people. It may have employed many more.
Where the lines sit: micro1’s referral page lists “Company requirements: 30+ employees”. Our board’s rule sends a closed company with 25 or more people to micro1. Since every notice here names at least 50 workers, every company in the table clears both numbers on the notice alone. That does not mean every one qualifies. micro1 decides at application, on the records as well as the headcount. Our page for closed companies covers what the founder keeps and how the steps run. Not every closure files a notice: our count of company dissolutions in two state registries shows how long the companies that closed in Colorado and Connecticut had been in business.
What a WARN notice says about a company’s records
A notice says a company had at least 50 people at one site, doing work that had to be organised. Nobody runs a site that size from memory. The paperwork piles up whether anyone wants it or not.
Our own examples, not a buyer’s list. A plant that closes after twenty years has its work orders, the maintenance logs for every machine and the quality checks on every batch. A distribution centre has its pick procedures, its shift handovers and the incident reports that changed them. A contractor that lays off a crew has its estimates, its job files and the change orders where the scope moved. A clinic or a call centre has its scripts, its training binders and the process notes that new hires were handed on day one.
Say a manufacturer files a notice naming 120 workers and closes the site after 18 years. That is 18 years of work orders, each one saying what broke, who fixed it and how long it took. It is the setup sheets for every product the line ran. It is the SOPs that were rewritten each time an audit found a gap. None of that is on the company’s website. All of it is the record.
micro1 says it is “looking for data that reflects how work is actually performed within an organization,” and its data partnerships page describes “operationally mature companies with 30+ employees, established documentation.” A buyer licenses records like these to train AI models. The closing company’s record is also complete: nobody is adding to it, so the whole run of the work is there, start to finish.
micro1 says “Personally identifiable information (PII) is removed when relevant,” and that some datasets “may undergo synthetic rewrites that preserve workflow structure while reducing direct ties to original records.” Customer names and payments are never what’s wanted. What’s wanted is how the work was done: how a quote became a job, how a repair was diagnosed, how a procedure changed after something went wrong. Our explainer on what data buyers want from a trade business goes through it file by file.
micro1’s page also says “Companies retain ownership of their underlying data.” The records stay the company’s. The WARN window matters for a plainer reason: during the 60 days the accounts are live, the exports work and the people who know where the archive sits are still there. After the last day, each of those gets harder.
If your company is on a notice, or about to be, our estimate asks five questions and gives you a range. It is ours, not an offer. Worth two minutes to see yours?
What is never included
On this page: no company names, no addresses, no cities, no notice text. The states publish those; we publish counts.
In a licence: micro1 says the “Anonymization and redaction requirements” are defined with each company before any participation, along with the approved data scope. Our own advice, not micro1’s: keep customer payment details, card numbers, employee medical and pay records, and anything a client owns under contract out of any export. And don’t hand around the names of former staff or customers.
Methodology
What is counted. Each number is the count of distinct companies in our database that carry at least one record from the WARN Feed archive. We read the database on 19 October 2026. The archive holds 13,625 notice rows in our database; they map to 11,238 companies. 9,914 companies carry one notice row and 1,324 carry more than one. A company with several notices counts once.
One company per state. Our pipeline matches notices to companies on the employer’s name and state. The same employer filing in two states is two companies here, one in each state’s row. Unrelated employers sharing a name in different states stay separate.
The date, the count and the type. The year of notice, the workers named and the type are read from the company’s record, not from each notice. When a company has more than one notice, the date and the worker count are the ones from the first notice loaded for it. That is not always the earliest notice or the largest. The type can come from a later notice: a later notice that calls itself a closure turns the company into a closure, and a later layoff turns a company with no stated type into a layoff. 15 layoffs sit in the 50 to 99 band, below the 100 our rule keeps for layoffs. Those 15 were first loaded from a layoff tracker we also collect, which keeps layoffs of 50 or more; their type and count come from that record, not from a state notice. 1,813 of the companies were already in our database from another source we collect, most of them a state’s own WARN listing, before the archive’s notice matched them; their date, count and type can come from that earlier record.
What our collection keeps. We keep notices dated 1 January 2020 or later; a notice with no date is kept when its effective date falls in that window. We keep closures naming 50 workers or more, layoffs naming 100 or more, and notices with no stated type naming 50 or more. We drop temporary notices, furloughs, reduced hours, notices marked as pandemic notices unless they say permanent, rescinded or withdrawn notices, notices typed “Non-WARN”, notices dated after the day of the run, and notices that name no number of workers. That is why the bands under 50 and “not stated” are empty. A notice from a smaller employer, or a smaller layoff a state chose to publish, is not in this table.
The queries, in plain words. We ran six counts on the read-only database, each over the companies linked to a WARN Feed record: (1) the number of notice rows and the number of distinct companies; (2) companies by state, split by notice year 2024, 2025 and 2026, notice year 2020 or later, and no notice date; (3) companies by notice year; (4) companies by the workers named, in the bands above, split by type; (5) companies by type and notice year; (6) the earliest and latest notice date, the number of companies with more than one notice row, the number first created by another source, and the number of states with a dated notice in each year. The totals in each table were checked against the others.
The source. The WARN Feed archive (warn-act-notices) describes itself as a “normalized, daily-updated dataset” of WARN notices from 48 states. It says the data “originates from official state labor department WARN listings.” It is licensed CC BY 4.0. Its own notes say “States amend and correct notices” and ask users to verify a row against the official state source before relying on it. New Jersey publishes the posting month only, so its notice dates are month-precise. The legal thresholds above are quoted from the Department of Labor’s Plant Closings and Layoffs page.
Refresh. The table is rebuilt monthly from the latest archive. The next update is due 19 November 2026.
TrustPast
Apply & License Your Data*Purchases are made by micro1 under its data partnership programme. TrustPast is an independent referral partner of micro1.
Sources
- Data: WARN Feed (warn-act-notices), CC BY 4.0: the archive of state WARN listings and its coverage notes
- U.S. Department of Labor, Plant Closings and Layoffs: 100 or more employees, 60 calendar days, 50 or more at a single site
- U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration: the WARN Act page
- micro1, refer a company: company requirements, 30+ employees (micro1.ai)
- micro1, data partnerships: who it looks for, the data it wants, PII removal and ownership (micro1.ai)